de Havilland Mosquito

Hi,

Trying to find out a bit more about my grandfather in WWII. He was a mechanic by trade and when the war started he was deployed to India by the RAF in charge of maintaining and fixing the de Havilland Mosquito planes.

All the information on Wikipedia goes over my head as I don't know much about History. But I was wondering if anyone on here knows what the Mosquito was used for there and what our interests were in India during the war? My dad told me they were wooden spy planes used for reconnaissance but Wikipedia says they are bombers?

Also is it possible that there was much 'action' (shooting, etc.) in India or would it be more surveillance etc?

Please excuse brevity as I really don't know much, but keen to find out more

Thanks

The two variants seen in the Far East were the fighter bomber and photo-recce versions. Both versions were used extensively in the later part of the Burma campaign.

The fighter bombers were also used in action in the Dutch East Indies (now Indonesia) particularly during the Battle of Surabaya in 1945; I don't think that they saw much in the way of combat activity in terms of attacking anyone or anything in India/Burma post-1945, though. They were there as part of the long-standing RAF presence in India alongside the British Indian Army; in the early years of the RAF, the squadrons served in the colonial policing or air control role.

Helm

MIA
Book Reviewer
Mosquitos were used in many roles, from bomber to night fighter and all points in between, it was an incredibly versatile aircraft.
here's a brief overview

The two variants seen in the Far East were the fighter bomber and photo-recce versions. Both versions were used extensively in the later part of the Burma campaign.