Damp proofing a concrete slab

Discussion in 'DIY' started by Spacehopper383, Apr 25, 2010.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I'm in the process of laying a concrete slab for the base of a outdoor store with two compartments. One for storing my daughters play equipment and the other for storing chopped wood for the wood burner.
    I've got a roll of DPC to lay under the blocks, but has anyone got any advice on damp proofing the rest of the slab? I have two ideas.
    1. Painting the concrete with bitumen before screeding with a sand cement mixture.
    2. Mixing the screed with a waterproofing admix before laying.

Any thoughts out there on either method.
  2. I'm a builder. For something like this, you just need to put a membrane underneath the slab really. The proper stuff is expensive but any bit of polythene that fits in the space underneath the slab will do or you might find a cheaper membrane from B&Q or somewhere.

If you were building something habitable, it would be a different ball game but for a storage area, why go for anything other than what I have suggested.
    • Bullshit Bullshit x 1
  3. Thanks rgj, would cutting up the All-in ballast bags overlapping and duck taping together work?
  4. For what you are talking about yes. If it's just a slab in the garden for a shed or some simple structure, do you really need any damp membrane under it, but what you are talking about would be good enough for that and, it's almost nil cost.
  5. If where you are going to lay the slab is pretty wet I would probably bring the DPM up the sides of the slab.
  6. This is just another thread about sheds..
  7. Don't let the Duke hear you say that!!!

A shed is built of wood and I'm building this of block so it can't be a shed and therefore this can't be a thread about sheds :D