Dale farm - justice at last

Discussion in 'The Intelligence Cell' started by Regalia, Oct 19, 2011.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. If Mr Bloggs of Basildon wants to build a retirement chalet on greenbelt land which he owns, he must get appropriate planning permission from his local authority. There is no separate set of rules for Mr Smyth, Traveller, currently occupying Dale Farm.
    That Mr Smyth and family have no adequate site available in England is a separate argument and should be addressed by the appropriate body. I am not good at sympathy; Italian immigrants in the 50's and 60's built faith schools by self-subscription, same with Mosques and Madrassas in this country. If these groups can be motivated to self-support, perhaps our Traveller friends could do likewise.
    Unfortunately, the habit of simply pitching up whenever and where ever one chooses, without so much as a by-your-leave to the neighbours, does not foster good community relations. It is interesting to note that those protesters supporting the Dale Farm residents are from across the country, the local populace being conspicuous only by their absence. Whether that is due to apathy, fear of reprisal or the fact that the locals have jobs to go to is open to debate.
    The residents of Dale Farm knew they were sailing close to the wind and chose to ignore the planning regulations (the retrospective application procedure was designed to apply only to garden sheds of certain specifications). They are not above the law. If they, or their supporters, choose to resist due process they should face the same sanction as any other citizen. Their appropriation of victimhood fools no-one; they are the authors of their own misfortune and the "poor me" routine is insipid.