Daily life of a Communication Systems Engineer?

Discussion in 'Royal Signals' started by bobhope, Sep 3, 2009.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I am seeking advice on the daily life of this career role after training. Am looking for advice on what they get upto while on operation on in uk. I do apologise if this topic has been done, and i am too stupid to find answers in the search results.

I will be starting basic training in January and will be doing the role above as my job choice. I know the basic about job and training, just looking for information on what i can expect when im in a unit or on tour.

2. On tour you will normally be stuck in a workshop attempting to repair any broken kit, but fresh out of Phase 2 you are likely to get put onto a det to learn how the kit works properly.

My first 2 years as a tech I worked on the SAS M/C and Relay and barely fixed anything...

Nothing has changed :oops:

Apparantley we don't use Ptarmigan and Clansman any more :?
  3. CSE is no longer a 100% technician role now that it has merged with IS Engineer. It all depends on what unit and what LSN you are posted to. I would imagine it could go from fixing broke stuff (if your allowed to do that anymore!) to daily sys admin tasks on networks to managing CISCO WAN links. And with the possibility of gaining Microsoft & CISCO certifications on the course you could do worse...........storeman or liney !!!!! TAKE COVER!
  4. Virtually all kit is sent back under contract to manufacturer, you're not even supposed to make cables now :x As for the IT stuff most of it is managed civvies so not a great deal there either. On ops is a bit different as kit needs to be kept going no matter what.
  5. Thanks, just what i was looking for. :D