Cyclohexanone and tetrachlorethylene

Discussion in 'The Intelligence Cell' started by knockknee, Sep 29, 2008.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I have no knowledge of this area. If someone with expertise could PM me I would be grateful.

I have received a reply to an FOI request of Thanet District Council in which they confirm a chemical spillage (threat to water table) incident at a local company. The problem was historical and reported in the early to mid 90s.

Treading carefully the FOI request has been forwarded by the Council to the Environment Agency who I hope can answer from their inquiries of the time how much chemical went to ground. I gather that the suspicion was that the leak was cover for theft of a volume of the chemical.

This the council tells me was Cyclohexanone.

We already know that an associate of the suspect had a quantity (twenty to thirty gallons) of tetrachlorethylene.

The suspect was it seems given severance in 1998 when inquiry allagedly found his engineering qualifications (to be senior site fire safety officer) were forgeries.

In 1988 an associate of his gained work with Reliance Security at Deal Royal Marines Barracks. It appears that he cleared vetting with a similarly doubtful set of REME Records.

This associate featured in our breach of security warnings in 89 to Kent Police.

My mate in his statement stated that he had been approached as a Betteshanger Colliery worker about obtaining mining explosives and dets.

One of these men founded the British Army Association. With it seems a man who was a member of the IRA supportive right wing group League of Saint George.

Whether Walt or not ? How good an idea would it be for them to have the above named chemicals ? Given that their other mate has a degree in chemistry.

I have emailed the Kent Chief constable.