CVs

Discussion in 'Royal Signals' started by Airborne_Foggy, Mar 11, 2006.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hello,

I am having serious probs with my CV, is there there anyone out there who can give advice or point me in the right direction to producing a good quality CV. I am due to leave after 22 yrs service and ain't getting a great deal of help from the resettlement side. I am an IS Engineer and will be attempting to get civilian Quals from my resettlement. My biggest problem with the CV is putting 22 years of Army/Sigs experience into civi lingo.

Regards

Airborne_Foggy

2. There are couple of ways to do it. Contact a couple of agencies who know how to deal with departing squaddies (resettlement office should be able to point in the direction of the right agencies , aerotek are well used to ex sigs) and ask them for advice, they are more than willing to help especially if it means they can get you on the books and get commission from finding you a job.

The other way is to get in touch with mates who have already left and get theirs so you can compare. Im not sure what IS ops do as I left just as they were starting to introduced.

3. CGS

CGS War Hero Moderator

Perhaps calling this thread CV's is an example of an area you may wish to brush up on when writing your CV?

4. Airborne siggy - pm me we have a couple of jobs going at our place that you might be interested in

5. The CV should be designed to get you the interview and the interview is what gets you the job. Look at what systems we are using and compare to what you are using and put the common bits in. The rest probably isn't relevant. Tailor the CV to each application, don't just send the same one to each (this is one of the downsides of using agencies).