Current Body Armour - Your Experiences

Discussion in 'Weapons, Equipment & Rations' started by chris_furniss, Nov 15, 2006.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi Guy's

My name is Chris and i am currently a Engineering Design Student at Coventry University. I looking at redesigning the body armour worn by you guys with the aim to protect your arms and legs possibly.

What i am after is your experiences of body armour to help me with the designing of product. Along with suitable improvements which you require.

Thanks for your time

Please contact me on

furnissc@coventry.ac.uk

2. Typical science student. No regard for grammar.

BTW - good luck. How is the redesign and production of our CBA going to be funded?

3. Good on you Chris...

Nice to see a civvy on the plus side and I hope your research produces some useful food for thought.

Remember mobility is increadibly important... if you get too heavy and can't do anything after leapfrogging for a hundred meters then you'd be better off starkers. The spine (heart) and skull are the only things that are going to get you deaders before you can say "ouch" so there has to be priority in whatever you're designing. I don't know much about traumatic amputation but that might lead you to up-priortise the joints... anyway good luck.

4. Whilst slightly off topic, (this is the NAAFI after all) do any of you old sweats remember the original flak jackets issued for NI?
    The ones we received in 73 had a post card in the pocket asking the wearer to post it back to the makers if they got hit wearing it, the questions continued to ask if the hit was fatal!?!
    Tossers!

5. Guy's