Cultural interests are fair at best, & plan exs

Discussion in 'Join the Army - Regular Officer Recruiting' started by mattmaily2k, Jul 26, 2011.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi guys,

Just a brief history on me. I am a secondary school teacher who is trying to get into the ETS. I consider myself well travelled and take part in sports such as tae kwon do, football, squash and running. I am 24 now but will be taking the AOSB for the second time probably early next year.

I failed my first AOSB due to a pretty rubbish planning exercise, and although I completed my command task, it wasn't the best. Obviously I will concentrate on those areas, but my form also said that my cultural interests are "fair at best". As it is the summer holidays for me I was wondering what advice people can give me on activities to do to enhance my cultural interests. I can't seem to think of anything that you can do regularly or weekly that is not sports related. Any ideas would be useful. I have been to museums etc but I feel it will be silly just listing museums I have been to on my latest board cv. I think it would be better for a weekly society or other activities etc.

Secondly, has anybody got any plan exs that can be put on this or mailed to me. I know this usually provokes a negative response asking for them, however, I have mailed the people in earlier posts about getting some and have only had 1 response since April. I even bought a book on amazon, but I can only say these were not very useful - quite flawed actually.

Any ideas on cultural activity, plan exs and command task tips would be massively appreciated.

Many thanks,

Matt