Country Sports - Shooting advice please

Discussion in 'Shooting, Hunting and Fishing' started by Scabbers, Jan 22, 2009.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Mods, this probably doesn't belong in the NAAFI, but it's serious request for advice, so feel free to shift it.

Situation: I like game fishing, I brew my own ale, I grow some of my own veg, so the self sufficiency route is well travelled. It's a good bloke thing to do. I've not bought ale from the supermarket or off licence for quite some time now.

Got an idea that I'd like to shoot furry and feathered things in the woods / fields, and, may just latch on to a local 'shoot'. Trouble is, I'm a complete novice. OK with SMG, Pistol, SLR, GPMG, LMG SA80 plus various soviet era weaponry, but the 12 bore has never crossed my path.

A recent copy of 'The Field' (nicked from the local GPs surgery in a self sufficiency mode) reveals that I will need a hefty mortgage to own a Purdy, Remington or any similar piece.

Question: So, whats the going rate for a second hand 12 bore in reasonable condition ? If I have to sell the kids / car / house it ain't going to work.

Note: The other reason I want to take it up is becuase my next door neighbour is lentil-eating left wing snotty bitch who dislikes me getting her old man pissed on my home brew and my over-theatrical gutting trout in the back garden in full view of her hanging out her kaftan. (Husband's OK...his choice in spouse is decidedly dodgy though). A brace or three of Pheasant hanging off my shed might up the ante a bit.

I also think that anything I do that doesn't quite fit in with the Kensington elite and aparatchik's view of the populous is always a bonus. Their disdain for the countryside / agriculture is a disgrace.

Should I be surprised at the Arrsers answers ? Will they be sensible ?probably not, but it's worth a try. 8O