counter terrorism act 2008

Discussion in 'Current Affairs, News and Analysis' started by Telecomsgeek, Feb 19, 2009.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. It is now an offence to take a photo of serving or ex-service personnel. subject to a maximum inprisonment of 10 years + fine.

As a keen photographer I have taken many self-portraits, which would now be illegal under the current act.

Also, any unit or course photographs would alse be deemed illegal under the above act.

2. if this is true, please can you post a link?

3. That is if you take your words literally. But I doubt that is how the Act is worded. More likely, if you take photographs for a criminal purpose.

4. i concur

5. http://www.opsi.gov.uk/acts/acts2008/ukpga_20080028_en_9

76 Offences relating to information about members of armed forces etc

(1) After section 58 of the Terrorism Act 2000 (collection of information) insert—
    “58A Eliciting, publishing or communicating information about members of armed forces etc

(1) A person commits an offence who—

(a) elicits or attempts to elicit information about an individual who is or has been—

(i) a member of Her Majesty’s forces,

(ii) a member of any of the intelligence services, or

(iii) a constable,

which is of a kind likely to be useful to a person committing or preparing an act of terrorism, or

(b) publishes or communicates any such information.

(2) It is a defence for a person charged with an offence under this section to prove that they had a reasonable excuse for their action.

(3) A person guilty of an offence under this section is liable—

(a) on conviction on indictment, to imprisonment for a term not exceeding 10 years or to a fine, or to both;

(b) on summary conviction—