Council tax

Discussion in 'Army Pay, Claims & JPA' started by danny842003, Apr 26, 2012.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I have just started a year long course for promotion and heard a dit that as I am a full time student I can get an exemption of council tax as I own my own property which I live in alone. To me this all sounds a bit to good to be true this is the quote from .gov

You’ll usually be considered a full-time student for Council Tax purposes if:
    you are enrolled to attend a course of education lasting for at least one academic or calendar year - and which you are normally required to attend for at least 24 weeks out of the year and study for at least 21 hours per week during term time
    or:
    you’re under 20 and your course leads to a qualification up to (but not above) A level standard or equivalent - as long as it lasts for more than three months and involves more than 12 hours of study per week
    If you’re unsure, check with your local council.

My course gives me an NVQ level 3 and a C&G qualification which i cant remember the number of. Just wondered what anyone else makes of this.

2. Oh just to add I live on camp during the week, not sure if that would make a difference.

3. Put in an application to the local authority for student exemption then, and see if they accept it.

4. Ring your council in the County where the property is and ask them :)

5. One problem.. you still draw a wage & therefore employed fulltime by the Army. Cant see them going for it but theres no harm in calling your local council & trying your luck.

LT.