Costs during basic

Discussion in 'Join the Army - Regular Soldier Recruitment' started by leg55, Jul 1, 2008.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi Guys

I should be starting in Oct at Catterick, Do you get charged for food and accomdation during phase 1 training? and if so how much is it? (ie is it at a lower rate due to the low pay being rec at this stage).

Regards

2. leg55
    why are you worrying about what youll be paying for food and accom? worry about what is ahead of you rather than what youll get in the bank and unless its changed from when i started training (7 years ago) for the first 6 weeks there was a pay parade and i never saw a pay slip.

3. I have now found out it's about £760 after everything.

I am taking a pay cut (in the short term) to join the army, was trying to establish if I was going to get the min of what I need, only just lol.

I am ready for basic, just trying to get all the knowledge on the little things around life in the army (1st year).

4. £760, you'll be lucky.

Unit tracksuit, various other funds 'appearing' near pay day, you'll be lucky to see 200 quid.

Don't the Army keep a percentage of your wage behind, and pay you a lump sum at the end of training?

5. Is this true? I thought your given cash for a couple of weeks, then everything started to go into your bank, do you really get that much taken out of it at first?

6. i am currently at ATR Bass and the recruits here get pay parades till week six then it is bank paid from here on in...