Contact lenses

Discussion in 'Join the Army - Regular Soldier Recruitment' started by hull_lad, Jan 10, 2009.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I'm aware that there are similar threads to this one but I just wanted a more specific answer.

I have completed all my application forms and have a date for my BARB test. I'm going for The Parachute Regiment, but i'm a bit concerned as to whether I would be allowed to wear contact lenses firstly at basic training and then at ITC Catterick. Obviously there are quite a few night exercises and field exercises during training so they maight cause me problems there. I've asked my recruiter but he's not too sure on the topic.

I've been wearing lenses for about 3 years now (i'm 16), and feel a lot more confident wearing lenses compared to glasses, however, if I did have to wear glasses I wouldn't really mind because my target is to just get in the Army.

If anyone knows what the current policy is on wearing contact lenses, especially at Catterick, then any info would be greatly appreciated.

2. im in a similar position, but im honestly contemplating waiting a couple of years to join up so i can save up for laser eye surgery.

3. Laser eye surgery may put a bar on your application for a set period, or might have more wide reaching ramifications.

Check using the search function, I think this has been covered before in great detail, failing that, have a trawl through the medical thrad.

4. A few lads in my plt in training wore contacts it all depends on what your used to.I prefered to wear my glasses in training and they caused me no problems at all.If your worried about wearing them on exercise then just take a spare pair of glasses with you just in case.Even if you go to catterick with contacts you will still get issued a pair of issue specs or joe 90's as there renown.