Considering the TASO Sceme

Discussion in 'OTC' started by Gremlin0790, Nov 13, 2007.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I was talking to a 3rd year in my OTC after our Remembrance day parade (I'm a 1st year cadet) and we got onto a topic which I think is the TASO scheme. He said there was a 7 week summer course and then a 3 week Sandhurst commissioning course during the summer that OTC cadets can take - is that TASO? Sorry I can't quite remember all the details, but that was the joist of it. He said that either MTQ1 or MTQ2 qualified cadets could do it.

I'm very interested in possibly commissioning into the Intelligence Corps (I'm majoring in Arabic and Politics at uni) and I definitely want to look into this option. With my degree, a government job is probably what I'd end up doing anyway. I'm going to ask my platoon commander and such about it, but I thought there wasn't any harm in getting some info here as well. Can you do it after MTQ1? Evenif I could, would it be advisable to wait until I pass MTQ2 to do it?

-Cheers, Gremlin

2. The three week commissioning course is just that; TACC - not exclusive to TASOs.

I also believe that the Int Corps don't do TASO for obvious reasons ;)

3. He's talking about the TA Commissioning Course as a whole - which is not, as some believe, simply the course as Sandhurst, but rather Mod 1-5 of which RMAS is Mod 4.

But that's besides the point. It would help to know which OTC you're at, as different Units do MTQ in different ways. I suspect you're at ULOTC, in which case you'll spend slightly more time on MTQ 1/2.
    Subject to a successful pass at MTQ2 (and AOSB), you can request to be loaded onto the Mod 3 summer course (the alternative is a structured weekend course) with a view to doing Mod 4 (RMAS) as soon as possible after that.