Considering joining but have a few questions...

Discussion in 'Army Reserve' started by SS_85, Jan 17, 2006.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hey I am currently studying in my second year at university, I was previously a member of the Air Training Corps and took part in the majority of the exercises which were army related and absolutly loved them, one of those people that gets a rush out of being out in a field / woods whatever in the middle of the night. Either way I have been considering joining up, from my recent research the main units which i think would suit me best would be either Infantry or Armoured.

The problem is my main concerns are quite small however quite valid, I have looked at the activities that go on during the annual camps, they sound like good fun except for one area... half the two weeks i have got the impression is all adventure training such as canoeing, abseialing rock climbing etc which sound good but I was wandering how much of this is / isn't optional? I'm not exactly brilliant when it comes to water and canoeing / surfing or any other types of water related activities are far from being my strong point... :oops:

Lastly just curious what unit would you guys recommend?

Thanks for your time would be great to hear back

2. Usually half the two weeks isn't adventure training there might be a day or two per fortnight (sometimes!!!) in my unit adventure training tends to be done on one or two seperate weekends per year. As for waterbased stuff theres (at least) four guy's in my current unit who can't swim, all activities on the water are supervised with safety boats, life jackets and so on and so forth.

As for what unit to pick i'd recommend looking round all the units in your area even if at first glance they don't appeal. what area are you in????