Conductors?

Discussion in 'RLC' started by Ventress, Dec 16, 2003.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Ventress

Ventress LE Moderator

I see the AMS is getting ready to produce Technical Warrant Officers- they join with a degree and Leave Phase 1 as a LCpl, do 3 years become a Sgt. Then they will get WO status in about 6 years. They are giving them Conductor status!

(They are Lab Techs and Xray by trade)

2. Why are they going to be fully armed and dangerous with an orchestra? :wink:

3. woopert

woopert LE Moderator

Nah, they'll walk down the back of the bus and ask for your ticket in the best traditions of the Corps. :lol:

4. ..or maybe they'll be sticking their fingers in electric light sockets...

5. You say status, that is not the same as being promoted into the rank - could you clarify that for me ?? Lcpl's straight from training is not new - the RMP have done it for years. 3 year Sgt's while unusual are nothing new. As for Conductor status - I can see no earthly reason for this, if true it is demeaning what the Conductor rank means (IMO).

Rank is normally indicative of a structure that requires someone to be in charge and so on, down the line. It probably typifies how little the Medical Services of today understand the Army traditions. It does of course beg the question of does the Army of today need its old traditions - there don't appear to be many of you left nowadays.

The Navy didn't do this to keep their Nuclear techies on submarines, they just paid them an enormous bonus on their salary and left them as oiks.

I don't have a problem with people wearing a rank on their arm, but I fear they will suffer ridicule when they are required to carry out the duties undertaken by other Warrant Officers.