Compulsory move to AFPS05 for LE Commissioning ?

Discussion in 'Army Pay, Claims & JPA' started by floppyjocky, Mar 9, 2007.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Quick question. A little birdie tells me that if commissioning from WO2/WO1 straight to IRC then you automatically get moved onto AFPS05.

Can anyone enlighten me? and is it the case for SSC(LE)?

Thanks in advance.

PS. Sorry if it's already been asked, can't find it.

2. I hope it is incorrect as I have been selected for an LE IRC.
    And as a soldier, I chose to stay on the AFPS 75 like the other 99.99% of the British Army.

3. one of your brethren asked about this while we were at 5 regt. think the answer was - yes and no.

you elected to stay on afps 75, so your non-commissioned service is pensioned like that. then when you get LE commissioning, you are technically re-enlisting and your service from that point is under afps 05.

don't know how this works in terms of lump sums etc, but essentially i recall the answer was you have two pensions - one for each part of your service.

i could be talking complete bollox. but that's what i think the answer was. it's definitely been asked on this forum before too.

4. 1st part of para 4

5. perhaps you would be so good as to post the correct answer then?

6. If you are old serve till your 22 year Point, if not serve till your EDP (18 years I believe), you cannot be forced to change your commitment

7. so you totally missed the point of the question and decided to talk bollox yourself? what sort of "advice" is that for someone asking about the fact that they have been LE commissioned (and therefore technically unenlist and re-enlist as officers)?