Complete Newbie ...

Discussion in 'Army Reserve' started by Lewis2009, Jul 13, 2009.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Ok so I went into my recruitment office today and signed contact papers/applications asking whether I'd applied before etc and then had my height and weight taken.

I was then told I'd either be contacted or I was to turn up to my local TA's parade tomorrow night and ask for a certain someone.

Any idea what tomorrow will entail, what will happen when I go along and meet this person ? I'm both nervous and excited :)
  2. You'll sit in a side room with some other lads for a while. Then you will have an interview. You might get shown around a bit and afterwards you'll go home with a big stack of paperwork.

You might even get invited to the bar afterwards.
  3. Have a shave, turn up and be polite, basically!

You should probably have an interview and fill out some paperwork. Do ask any questions you might have, and just show some enthusiasm.

You will be handed some application paperwork - and lots of it - to be getting on with afterward. Along with some medical documents to take to your doc. You may also get a tour of the building, and other specific to unit info.
  4. Ah yes, I forgot the most important bit there :wink:
  5. Don't worry, we were all new to the army once including the person you're going to meet, so it's just like any other job interview; smart, enthusiatic & answer everything asked of you.

Sure you'll be fine & before you know it you'll be marching off a parade square somewhere having completed phase 1 training. :)
  6. I've had a couple army interviews before, but nothing as kind of 'serious' as this.