Commonwealth serving soldier transfer to Int Corps

Discussion in 'Int Corps' started by Canada6789, May 8, 2007.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I'm a serving soldier, with four years service, looking to transfer in. Experience and education are fine---I hold a degree, I am fluent in a foreign language, and I have G2 experience. My problem is perhaps an obvious one: DV. Realistically, what are my chances of completing a transfer in good time if I put in for it now? I wouldn't want to waste everyone's time if it is going to take another two or three years for the DVA to complete the appropriate vetting. Any insights and opinions welcome.
  2. I think you need at least 5 years residency prior to transfer but having said that rules may have changed.

The DV takes as long as it takes and there are a lot of factors involved it would be inappropriate to discuss in a public forum. All being well however and you are talking months rather than years.

Go for it!
  3. The months-not-years comment is is my understanding that I need not be DV to attend Phase Two training. If this is the case then I do not see anything stopping me---barring some strange vetting complication. Either way, my paper work is going in very shortly. I just want as much of a heads up because my situation is slightly different from the average UK, off the street applicant.
  4. Top Tip, grow a beard, wear a suicide vest and call the interviewer "Infidel Dog" during selection and they'll snap you up!
  5. Thanks for the guidance...that coupled with the collective nous at my normal place of work has certainly influenced my decision.
  6. Waaay back when, about 1979 I think, we had Cpl Rufus Orme serving in 121 Int Section, HQNI. Rufus held dual nationality (Brit & Canadian) and eventually went off to join the New Zealand Int Corps in about 1982.