Commonwealth Citizens applying for RMAS?

Gents,

I am currently serving in the Australian Army Reserve (our TA equivilant), as an Officer-Cadet, and have been for 2 years. I will, assuming all the right stars and planets align properly, earn my commission next July as a Lieutenant.

Concurrently I am studying at our national university, and will complete my degree in mid-2010.

This january I am coming to the UK on a university exchange programme, and will be spending the 6 month period also on exchange with one of your OTC outfits.

I have become increasingly interested in coming to RMAS once I have completed my degree, rather than going through RMC Duntroon (again) here in Australia. Whilst with the OTC in the UK I shall be making enquiries, but I was wondering if anybody has had any experience with Commonwealth citizens applying for and attending RMAS?

It appears relatively straightforward for Other Ranks, but I have heard or found no definitive information on Officer entry.

Obviously I will be holding the Queen's Commission on applying for a place at RMAS, will that negate the requirement to attend your selection board? It would, after all, be a rather expensive trip just to attend board. (at over 1000 GBP for a flight). Not interested in any Recognition of Prior Learning beyond that, utterly keen to turn up and complete the entire course with the rest of my cohort.

Cheers in advance,

B.

G'day Bond,

I find myself in much the same situation. I am from South Africa and I really want to make the army my career as an officer. I have spoken to a few people about goining to RMAS but all have said that you need a residency of 3 years as a Commonwealth citizen. However they also said are wavier periods are granted to certain cases. I am quite interested to see the replies for this topic as I am still very keen on joining as an officer.

Cheers

Gents