Commonwealth applicant: residency requirements + gaps in between

Discussion in 'Join the Army - Regular Soldier Recruitment' started by angantyr, Nov 15, 2010.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hello,

I'm interested in applying for a infantry role in the British army. From what I know, induvidals from the commonwealth inside Britain are required to have lived in the UK for three years in order to be eligible.

For me the problem is that, although I have been studying in the UK for four years, there were gaps in between (going home on summer/chirstmas vacation). Im getting quite worried that the recruiters will turn me away because of this.

Even further, I have finished my studies and will be returning home this November and will be applying for a two year post study work visa. But I wont get it until February or March - making a 4 month gap in between my stay.

Will any of these gaps disqualify me applying next year?

Thank you for your time.

2. No if going for a Non SC job like infantry you do not require any residency, so if i was you go into the ACIO nearest you and if you meet all the requirements of 4 years left on passport and at least 4 months of Visa(this may be an issue now) then start the application. You could always go back home and start an overseas online application and continue it once returned to UK in March.

3. Forgive me if I am wrong, but I think you have to have lived here for 5 years, and not 3 in order to join the army as a commonwealth citizen. Out of interest, what country are you from? What kind of visa are you looking to apply for, now that you have finished studying?

4. YOUR WRONG...see my above.....you dont need to of lived here at all if going for non SC jobs.