Commemorative Medals

Discussion in 'Medals' started by ArtyLaycock, Nov 23, 2011.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. With Remembrance day gone I thought I'd highlight a couple of incidents that happened at our village Cenotaph and in the follow on venue.
    Had a good turn out, I spend the couple of months leading up to the day itself making sure the local ACF and other youth organisations are prepared (I am an instructor myself), I also, for my sins arrange some of the admin bits and bobs to ensure the day goes smoothly.
    First thing, peoples dress. I was dismayed to find that some thought it ok to turn up in jeans and t shirts some of those i know have been in the forces, not a suit on between them, no medals worn and all in all a very poor bloody effort. The Cadet Warrant Officer taking the parade was a complete shambles and the appropriate letter has gone to the right person for this to be addressed.
    Secondly, a number of comments were made regarding commemorative medals, some of which were downright rude. If a person wishes to remember a specific time of service then they should be afforded that, I myself wear a small number of medals and was asked why I bothered? I am sure many on here could have told him why I bothered! Many of us did the required 22 and didnt deploy on operations for a huge number of reasons, everyone plays their part! I have looked at a couple of commnets on here and have to say some of you are sorely misguided and informed regarding some of the overseas postings undertaken during the East/West hostilities.
    And finally the few serving soldiers who attended didnt fly their respective flags very well. We had a member of the Reme wearing a beret with No 2's and a lad who thought it ok to wear the new issue combats and who only undertook the salute when he realised everyone else had responded to the last post.