Combat Medical Technician help and advice

Discussion in 'Join the Army - Reserve Recruitment' started by FireWalshy, Dec 28, 2009.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hello i am new to the forum, i am interested in joining the TA as a Combat Medical Technician and i have a few questions to ask if possible please.

1) Is the recruitment continuious or is it done once or twice a year?

2) How long is the basic Military training and what does it involve.

3) Once the Military training is complete how long is the medical training and what does it involve?

4) What is a Combat Medical Technicians role in a war zone, is it to provide medical treatment at the base camp hospital or is it to go out on patrols with the regular soldiers and provide medical treatment there? Or both?

5) I work as a Firefighter at the moment so it wouldnt be possible for me to attend all the drill nights due to my shifts, would this pose a problem?

6) If i got accepted in the TA and i got ordered or volenteered to go to a war zone, how long are the tours are they 3 or 6 months?

7) Would my current employer freeze my pay whilst on tour and would the TA match my current salary or would i be paid the basic Army rate?

8 ) Can you start at the bottom as a First Aider and work your way upto Paramedic level?

Sorry if i sound abit clueless/naive i dont really know much about the TA but would love to contribute my time and efforts in joining and helping our current Soldiers who are serving overseas.

Thanks very much in advice.

2. Erm, with limited knowledge:

1) Continuous, but depending upon the unit they may already be full (atleast for a while)

2) I believe its 9 weekends per year plus 2 weeks camp, not too sure if you do more for the CMT side.

3) Im not too sure, your best bet would be to go down one night.