college + uni or straight into military???

Discussion in 'Join the Army - Regular Soldier Recruitment' started by jd90, Jun 23, 2010.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi, im in a difficult situation atm, a bit of a fork in the road. Now im working full time, and have done for 2 years, ive always wanted to sign up but havent been able to due to not being 4 years clear of asthma. Now in october i will be 4 years clear of my so called asthma, but im going back to college in septembe to study engineering.
    Now my question to all of you is; do i a) go to college, university and do something like the TA or UOTC on the side and try for officer when i have my degree, and if i dont get through for whatever reason go for a regular.

Or b) do i do the college course and then apply full time for the army (maybe RAF) and use college and university as a back upincase i dont get into the military for whatever reason.

What would you do??

im 20 years old, will be 21 next june. Thanks for reading.
  2. I would see a psychic, she would know what to do.
  3. depends what job you wanna go for in the forces. some will give you a degree (in engineering or other) and pay you while you do it.

if you wanna join, join.
  4. If its engineering you want to do then sign up.

Get paid to learn in the Army.

or go to college then Uni, get in debt then sign up.

I know what Id rather do.

However a couple of A levels never hurt anyone :)
  5. I'd say go to college at least, it's best to have some A-levels behind you, not just for when you get out (it's not the most important thing, but it will be one day) and it's only 2 years. I wanted to drop college when I was doing it for army but glad I stuck it out until the end first.