CMT1 inTA

Discussion in 'Army Reserve' started by menston134, Sep 15, 2006.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I'm a state registerd Paramedic of 12 years and i'm about to join the RAMC TA as a CMT. I have been told that as a Paramedic after basic training I will convert into a CMT1. I also hold a Paramedic assessors qualifcation and a National CBRN decontaminaion qualifcation. Can any one tell me what promtion prospects I should expect after basic training ?
    I'm a 38 year old male. thanks for any help.

2. well mate,u should at least start off at full cpl,that's if there is any slots.as for sgt,same again, it's all about slots.Some units promotion policy's amaze me,best of luck mate.

3. Since the army seems to be struggling to get its CMT1s converted to Paramedic it seems only natural that you are already well ahead of the pack.

However its military skills you will need to gain and that takes time.

My advice would be join up asap, do the conversion (if needed) but then get yourself on as many military courses as you can as soon as you can.

Your profession will keep you up to date with the medical saide far more than the TA can and the army will do the rest.

Also look around, give serious consideration to becomeing an RAMC badged medic with a non AMS unit, Infantry, Engineers, etc they will make the most of your skills and give you the respect (and promotion) due to you.

Best of luck
    Cardinal

4. As stated in your other post:

I don't think the quals will give you rank straight away. You need to train as a soldier and a CMT. They are a far cry from being a paramedic. You need experience in many areas of the military before getting promoted and the confidential reports play the biggest part in picking rank up. You need a couple of recomendations for promotion first and that will only come with a couple of years in a unit.