CMT? what are my options

Discussion in 'Army Reserve' started by ifrits_ghost, Apr 24, 2006.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi all, as you may or may not know i am currently a tech in the signals (ptarmigan incase you care) but i am some what disilussioned with my trade and would like to retrade and train as a CMT now for the questions

is it possible to be a CMT in my sigs unit and would it be a good idea?
    if i would need to transfer is it possible and what units have CMTs i know that the RLC have them and the RAMC but who else? i would like to be attached to the inf is that possible.
    do i need any previous qualifications to be a CMT?
    or is there a medic course for non cmt trades and i dont mean the BCD instructor course.

i am mainly looking to retrade as at the moment i could not imagine being a tech of six months plus if modilised in role and if not in role i would like the skills that being a CMT would give me.

edited to say sorry for the shite subject title i could not think of anything

2. We went to Germany with a drop short unit they had scab mech's with them pretty sure that any Sqn ect will have CMT as part of unit strength ect normally between 2-3 in units ect
  3. infantry units also have them, as said above normally 2-3, & i believe the class 3 CMT course can be done by anyone. I know a couple of our lads went on it last year. I dont think there are any pre-requisits.
    I reckon you may have to shop around for vacancies though.
    hope that helped a little!
  4. Not being funny, but why don't you contact the nearest Medic unit and ask them? :D
  5. Where in the country are you?

We have a slot for a CMT at our unit (RLC though).