CMT vs Student

Discussion in 'Army Reserve' started by Smookle, Jun 3, 2006.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I'm a first year student nurse, and I've been really into the idea of joining the TA for some time now (Probably 243 Field Hospital). I was a cadet for seven years (yea, ain't I amazing...lol) and want to join the regulars when I'm a qualified nurse anyway, so the TA seems like a natural step to take. However, I do have a couple of questions:

1) Time commitment. Weekends and weekdays are fine, I don't live too far away from the unit I'm planning on investigating, but the two weeks annual could be. My university is really against large blocks of absence during study periods, and to be honest, I don't want to risk getting to far behind (even if I am doing something really cool). What are the normal times for annuals? Are they likely to co-incide with my holidays? (August through to beginning of September)

2) My level of fitness is not great. It's not bad, but I would only just scrape through on the fitness test (and I mean just). Would it be recommended to wait till my summer break and work on it then before joining, or just give it a go and join up anyway? If I do wait, and join around September time, would they mind if I didn't do the two weeks till the following summer?

3) If I do decide to go ahead, are there any advantages or disadvantages of joinging as a combat medical technician, or a student nurse?