Discussion in 'Professionally Qualified, RAMC and QARANC' started by medisnake, Feb 7, 2006.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Does any one know the score with CMT or HCA?
    I hear the CMT is going to get scrapped and be replaced by HCA, this has been discust in the TA since I did my CMT3 about 7 years ago.

I am in a field Hosp (V) and I have just had a kick in the B***s. CO informed us unit are to deploy on Heric but CMT's not required.
    Are CMT's/Field Hospitals in the regs held with such Disregard?
  2. if there is a Reg Fd Hosp providing the CMTs for the stores then there is no need for TA CMTS.
    The CS or GS regt would provide the CMTs for any blue light matrix.
    I deployed on Telic with the TA and some of the TA CMTs were used as HCAs on the wards while the others were in the QMs.
  3. I am a T.A. CMT 1 , but in my civvy job I work as a Scrub Theatre Assistant (assist surgeon with Hip + Knee replacements etc) , which is a Grade B HCA in an Orthopaedic Hospital.

During Telic I worked in A+E in Shaibah because the powers that be don't recognise the role because I have no anaesthetic experience.

I'm beginning to wonder what sort of role I would have if I was called up for any future operational tours.
  4. Not sure what your CO is on about with ref to your potential deployment but obviously without going into too much detail there are no Fd Hosp (v) going out as a fully formed Unit for a while. Nothing is really set in concrete as yet with ref to that area but cant see a TA hosp taking the lead too early on.

CMTs will always be required in a Fd Hosp (to paint boxes/stag on etc, had to have a bit of a dig) so it seems a bit short sighted of your CO to say what he did.

Not to mention the effect on morale that it obviously has had.