claiming milage relief to and from work

Discussion in 'AGC, RAPTC and SASC' started by grandmaster, Aug 28, 2007.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. please help, i believe i can claim tax relief on commuting to and from my home to my place of work, i have filled the forms in and got a snot-a-gram from the tax office saying that postings on ops are part of your postings whilst in the uk within a tour! is this correct and is there any work around for it. i am new to this so please help

further information to this enquiry, is that the tax office said i can not claim this for more than a 24 month temporary posting, are all postings temporary, and i still enquired that within a 24 month posting and more, that i went away on op tours and obviously i was detached from the unit and posted into other countries, whilst carrying out ops. so is there any advice on what to say to the tax office on what to do about this problem. i have been told no by the tax office! so any advice or solutions please reply
  2. Welcome to the site, Grandmaster. I think you are muddling a couple of issues but we'll tease those out later.

I am not aware that you can claim tax relief for home to duty travel aka "commuting". The Revenue's response is the standard "everybody travels from home to work and back..."!