Civpol to RMP Officer

Discussion in 'AGC, RAPTC and SASC' started by Taffs1985, Dec 11, 2010.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi all, :wave: i am brand new to ARRSE so please be gentle, i've seen plenty of newbies get destroyed on here and i'm cacking it. Anyway here goes...

I have been a cop within a Scottish Police Force for the past 3 years and in a nutshell i've really started to fall out of love with the organisation for a large number of reasons, as such i am now at a stage where i am seriously considering jumping ship to pastures new(ish). I was OTC whilst at university and i am currently within the TA, however due to work restraints i very rarely manage to even darken the TAC doorway, as such more and more i am interested in going regular. I have passed AOSB and i am looking to enter Sandhurst in May next year, with the aim of joining the glorious redcaps as a 'rupert'.

I have looked at TA RMP, but as stated i can hardly attend drill nights already due to shifts etc, and as such i don't see much point in wasting their time, also i'm wanting more than just the occassional weekend. I have also enquired about an RMP fam visit but the RMP Recruitment Officer said there wasn't much point in attending one as i have attended a number of other fam visits during University/OTC and they are all very similar, with the better RMP visit taking place prior to the RSB at Sanhurst.
    However before taking the leap of faith i have a few questions for my fellow ARRSEers...

1. I am aware i will be much less hands on than the NCOs of the Coy, but generally what is the relationship like between the lads and the officers? I hear there is also more 'back-stabbing' amongst the ranks than other regiments/corps, please say this is not so...:sad: