Civilian Work in Afghanistan

Does anyone know of a way that I could find work in Afghanistan and make a contribution towards the military effort? I am a civilian, not even ex military. I am an accountant. I have had to close my business due to the recession after 15 years work. I have tried the MOD but could not make much progress. Willing to consider anything but experience of last 30 years is in finance and running a business generally. Any leads would be much appreciated. Was thinking of something at Bastion or Bagram or similar. I am a UK national with full UK passport, have lived in UK from birth.

I'm sure there's plenty of NGOs offering ( Not very well ) paid work . Though I have no idea how you'd go about trying to join one

Is this some sort of wind-up? Who the f*ck, especially a Civvie would want to go to 'Ghan 'looking for work because they are unemployed here in the UK?

Mind you, you could always grow a huge Talibandy beard, dress in baggy pants and nightshirt, wear a turban and open a roadside 'Char Wallah' cafe at the side of the road in Kabul......selling tea, coffee, Egg Butties...no bacon... and 'Bean Rollies' Sheesh!

Its like some years ago some naive, numtpy American Christians somehow smuggled themselves into Iraq soon after 'Iraqui Freedom' kicked off.... Their excuse given to their families prior to leaving the States was they were looking for work as electricians and and wanted to give out English versions of the Bible.... of course, they were never heard of again...

Gawd...some people really have 'Stupidity' running through their genes just like Blackpool Rock.... :p

uncle_vanya said: