Civies on Ops...

Discussion in 'The Intelligence Cell' started by BaldricksBullet, Mar 24, 2007.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. A little Int required...

My wife works for the Danish MOD as a bookkeeper and they've just pointed out that her contract says she's bound to do whatever they tell her to.... tough. So their plan is to send her to Afgahnistan for a few months. NIGHTMARE! Sod the danger... our poor daughter will have her nappies on backwards and have to eat spagetti and ketchup for the best part of a season! And I'll be housebound and won't be able to my job as the DMoD also think it's fun to send me places at 24 minutes notice (you may have noticed that the engraving shop shuts suddenly now and again).

We probably wouldn't be so taken aback by this if it were the other way around. I've been a soldier and mil related all my life. But she thought she was a secretary on a secretaries wage whose raison d'etre was to smile and be nice to anxious men in green.

So here's the question . Do the UK/US/CAN forces send civies out? Do they train them? (you'll love this - she won't be base bound and gets a one week course and a pistol!) Do they get extra cash? How much?

Just interested. If their demands are unfair, we'd like to tell them and base it on comparative reason... and pehaps negotiate a better deal for her and the other lambs who have suddenly been put in this position.

Heartfelt cheers for any help or comments you can give us on this one.
  2. Bloody hell mate, thats a bit rough on your daughter.