Churchill? Doesn't he sell insurance on TV?

Discussion in 'Current Affairs, News and Analysis' started by Agent_Smith, Feb 10, 2005.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. http://www.dailymail.co.uk/pages/live/articles/news/news.html?in_article_id=337338&in_page_id=1770&in_a_source=

A_S Bangs head off brick wall! :roll:

2. Jay Leno does a roving camera/man-in-the-street bit on The Late Show.

He was buttonholing pedestrians and asking them questions about American history to which (I'd assumed) everyone knew the answers.

He asked a 20-ish gal: Against what country did America fight its Revolutionary War?

She furrowed her brow with concentration and said: "Uhmm......Germany?"

He asked her what she did for a living. Answer: "I'm a teacher."

3. I think Chamberlain's statement (as from http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/special_report/1999/08/99/world_war_ii/430071.stm)

"This morning the British Ambassador in Berlin handed the German Government a final note stating that, unless we hear from them by 11 o'clock that they were prepared at once to withdraw their troops from Poland, a state of war would exist between us. I have to tell you now that no such undertaking has been received, and that consequently this country is at war with Germany"

.... amounts to us declaring war on them.

On the other hand, America didn't declare war on Germany - it was a surprise to all when the Germans did it first. Many pressures on Roosevelt to limit offensive action to the Nips.

However, education is a marvellous thing, if only .... etc

4. I suppose that you could say that Winston Churchill was the best insurance policy that we ever had.

Sadly, insofar as politicians go these days, we are definitely underinsured.

Cue favourite anecdote:-

Late 1940.