Choosing an infantry regiment

Discussion in 'Join the Army - Regular Officer Recruiting' started by Artaxerxes, Oct 28, 2012.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi all,

I'm a final year History student who is interested in becoming an infantry officer or an intelligence corps officer. I had a really good chat with my Army Careers Advisor this week who will soon put me in contact with the Mercian regiment for a visit. However, my heart isn't set on any particular infantry regiment at the moment, so he suggested the Mercian regiment simply because it recruits from the place I live in (by the slimmest of geographical margins).

May I ask from your experience what sets each regiment apart and what interests, personality traits etc they might look for in a potential officer? My ACA told me that his old regiment was 'traditional and paternalistic' with regard to how its officers related to their soldiers while The Rifles, for example, were a bit more like older and younger brothers because of their skirmishing past.

Ultimately, the Mercians might be a good match but I'd hate to waste their time if that doesn't prove to be the case, so any advice you could give me will be very helpful.

Finally, should I be worried about joining a regiment that will be assigned to the 'Adaptive Force'? I'd really like to go on tour where the infantry are put to the test, but the description for the Adaptive Force makes me think that some poor soldiers will spend their careers teaching Achmed how not to blow himself up in some banana republic.

2. I am certainly not in a position to give meaningfull answers but welcome to ARRSE!

Somone with a brain will be along shortly!
    • Like Like x 1
  3. napier

napier LE Moderator Reviewer