Choosing a reserve unit

Hey

Spent 3 years in the OTC and currently waiting for mainboard in July, however, got a CAT 3 in briefing, I was told i was a good leader and very physical person but my low MAP and plan-exe scores let me down which I wasn't surprised about. I don't mind whether I serve as a soldier or an officer. I attempted AOSB because if I didn't try I wouldn't know. I'm making a backup plan to become a reserve soldier because I want to serve in some way. I have an Exercise and sports science degree and currently teaching so reserve would be perfect. I located in the south-west and was looking at such places as infantry (6 rifles), Armoured and Engineers. My only worry is I would like to join a something like the armoured or engineers but i have no real experience in those fields but would love to learn. Would love some advice on which to choose.

Thank you

chrisg46

LE
Book Reviewer
Pretty sure you have posted this in the wrong forum. However, the best answer to the question is another question - what do you want to get out of it? I understand that there are few armoured reserve units where you would actually do the role? For example, Roytal Yeomanry offer CR2 crewman but dont see any very often...
If you want to soldier, go infantry. You might be interested to know that 7 Rifles is now armoured infantry - no idea what this means from the junior officer point of view, i have only really seen them sit in the turret watching!

Your right, I didn't mean to do that my bad, thank you for moving it. I think the thing I want to most is to be challenged, learn, see and do as much as I can. Travelling would be a bonus and to be a part of a good group of people. 7 rifles sound good they are just quite far from me.

Ooh, South West!

Ahem,......

My unit, 255 TACP Battery RA are located in Bath.