Chilwell & 170 - Genuine request for info

Discussion in 'Sappers' started by Sappersmum, Jan 26, 2009.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Please be gentle, whilst I have browsed for some time, I am a newbie with a request for honest responses.

My son has been in sandier climes for some months and shortly has to decide whether to sign on or not. For an 'inducement' he has been told he will be put forward for 170 Infra.

He is single now but I think that will change in the near future.

I have read postings from you guys in 170 about how many times you deploy and the leave situation. Having read these comments I think he is being stitched up and what he is being told is a far cry from reality. I would be grateful for your very honest views bearing in mind possibly a new wife who has never been in a military/patch situation.

Many thanks.
  2. Well I used to like doing armoury checks there because 170's weapons always seemed to be out so there were fewer to count...
  3. Purely depends on which team he goes to and his trade.
  4. Thanks Captain, I appreciate your comment.
  5. I'm told Power, he is a sparkie
  6. Sorry, Sappersmum, I wasn't trying to make a joke. My point was more that in my experience of being based on the same camp as 170 they were very busy people.

A good bunch though & while the local area round camp is a bit run down in general I had a very happy three years posted up there.
  7. Don't worry I knew you weren't! What you said confirms all I have read.

At the end of the day he will have to decide where his priorities lie. I just want him to do so with as much info from the guys in situ and not just what he is being fed as an inducement.

Believe me I have learnt my lesson the hard way in my military time! All is not as rosie in real life etc.......thanks again for taking the time to answer.