Cheap Laptop capable of running SIMS 3?

Discussion in 'Hardware - PCs, Consoles, Gadgets' started by HAIRYARSERIGGER, Apr 12, 2010.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I am in the market for a new general purpose laptop, (max £400 if possible), that must be capable of running SIMS 3 for my daughter.

Any ideas?

Any help would be gratefully received.
  2. Judging from the comments on such a laptop might not have the spec to cut it. If she already has the game, check out the recommended spec and aim higher than that if you can.
  3. For your daughter!

I'm no expert, so I like Dell - you can build it to meet the spec you need.
  4. Look for one with a separate graphics card, integrated graphics are shit for gaming.

I've got a Laptop for £600 ish (can't remember exact price now) Acer Aspire 7736G and it has a Nvidia Geforce G210m 512mb.

I spent ages looking at the time for the best budget gaming laptop, and this was the best all rounder I could find, so if you can stretch to an extra 200 notes it's a gleaming laptop with a massive 500gb hard drive.

I've yet to find a game it can't play well, Cyrsis is usually the benchmark people measure there PCs against and I can run it on a mix of medium and high settings.
  5. Actually I just had a quick google for it and it can be bought for £550 , but with a smaller hard drive of 320gb.
  6. They're at it again. :roll:

So will a £400 laptop do the job or not? If so, which one?
  7. Max £400 if possible fooknuts.
  8. According to my laptop greatly exceeds the minimum requirements. It cost £350 a year ago.

BTW, I'm very impressed that you paid lots of money for your laptop. It must be capable of playing DVDs very quickly.
  9. I did my best to answer a simple question not to tommy two sh1t and in the world of gaming PCs 600 notes doesn't go far.