Charging equipment in the field

Discussion in 'Weapons, Equipment & Rations' started by Matt1st, Nov 20, 2007.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hey,
    Im in my third year studying product design. Im currently working on a project for a small device which can be thrown into a fire and use energy from the fire to charge batteries and equpiment in the field. I would be very grateful if anyone could comment or make any suggestions on the idea, for instance its usefulness or features it should have.

Thanx alot!

2. Dont foresee it being that useful to be honest.

If youre going to have a fire, chances are you're in a safe location and can utilise a vehicle, or are in a base location. We dont really use fires as a rule. We've cookers, field kitchens, generators, etc etc.
    If youre tactical youre not going to be using fires for long enough (or simply not going to be using fires) so it wont have a lot of worth there either.

It could be useful, but not that I can see to be honest.

Design it anyways. I like buying gucci gadgets. :wink:

How long are you planning on the fires being lit for?
    How much energy do you foresee being produced?

Maybe you should switch fire to survival equipment running off fire... strobe beacons, torches, etc - smaller batteries being recharged from your fire source... makes carrying the kit easier as it's lighter.

Just a thought, discard as you see fit :wink:

3. Stove top may be of more use than fire top (not that I know anything), but given where most Forces are at the moment, solar power may be a little more useful ;-)

Tubs

Edited for clarity

4. Maplins do a solar powered charger for £9.99 - I think they have beat you to it!

5. If you can design a non reflective, lightweight, compact charger which can extract enough power from a full portaloo to run a 28in LCD TV and a PS3, you've got my vote.