Changing Mortgage

Discussion in 'Finance, Property, Law' started by ipaq, Dec 13, 2009.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi,
    after a bit of advice from the forum. I'm looking at changing my mortgage from a fixed rate to that of a flexable rate. However:

1. As a serving soldier my primary residence is currently rented out, currently living in a quarter. I have a fixed rate mortage but its not a buy to let mortgage. The tenents moved in to my house after I took out the mortgage, at the end of my tour I was posted down south. Would this be a sticking point when chnaging to a new mortgage that is not a buy to let?

2. Anyone know of any mortgage companys that would be happy with the above scenario that give competative tracker rates. The best I've seen thus far is 2.77%. I'm also after unlimted overpayments as well.

Any help advice would be great, I'll be arranging a meeting with a mortgage advisor over the X-Mas period but always nice to go fore armed with info.

Best Rgds

2. You don'tneed a buy-to-letmortgage for your main residence. You will need to inform your lender before you rent it out, so you need to ask (and get confirmed in writing) that there is no objection to your doing this. Mortgage providers will be on the lookout to stop people doing unauthorised buy-to-let, but explanation that it's temporary move for Crown Sevice should be unproblematic. Always has been for us. Happy hunting

3. You must tell your current lender that the house is let as you are a Crown servant and have been posted. The small print in your paperwork will tell you that.

Presumably, you are coming to the end of a fixed rate mortgage. If that is the case, then you will be moved onto the standard (flexible) rate of and you will probably find that the rate you are paying drops because it is about 3.5%. That is the way in which the current market is working.