CCTV help

Discussion in 'Hardware - PCs, Consoles, Gadgets' started by Pacifist_Jihadist, Jul 14, 2011.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hello all, i know there are a few on here with knowledge on this so im hoping you can help. Also i am completely new to CCTV equipment so sorry if i am asking any silly questions. I have found a good if simple DVR kit with 4 cameras which will meet my needs in work. They are coverage of 2 separate check out areas, 1 open area illuminated by 2 security lights and 1 main gate covered by 1 security light (camera will be about 20m for this one).

The package i am thinking of is:
    DVR KIT - 2420

1) It seems to be a generic DVR but it has all the features i need. Remote access and motion activation being the 2 main. Does anybody recognise it? Is it one to avoid? Also is the internal HDD easy to swap out, just put in a correctly formatted new one?

2) The 2 bullet cameras with it will be used for the open outdoor areas. They say they are weatherproof, but how is this in reality? I plan to put them under guttering which provide a good deal of cover, but could they theoretically be mounted outside completely exposed? If a housing was required, is a typical housing a housing as i have seen them as cheap as £25? And what is the benefit of a heater?
    Also they will be mainly needed for night time viewing. Would the built in IR lamps plus the 2 security lights be enough to comfortably cover out to about 20m? Is colour still bad for night recording as i was told years ago B&W was best?

3) The dome cameras will be used indoors in a fully lit area at a max of 5m range so no issues there.