CCRF, Cumbria, Boscastle etc

Discussion in 'Army Reserve' started by Lampard, Nov 22, 2009.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi, I'm currently studying a unit at College entitled "The Planning for and Management of Major Incidents". Sadly it's not a very detailed unit, but I've a few questions for anyone willing to answer.

1. Where can i find more information on the CCRF? (Whatever that is, Google returns nothing) Though, if what I've read from some replies is correct, it's not really relevant anymore. That said, I'd be interested in reading up on it, even if only for a short entry into the report I'm currently writing.

2. Is there currently an official route taken by a Gold Command in situations such as Cumbria, and worse, that denotes it is at a level that warrants the involvement of the Armed Forces? For example, this fire now covers an area over so many feet, or casualties have reached over a certain number, we are allowed to contact the Army, or similar? If so, what is it?

3. How often DO the Armed Forces get involved in incidents such as Cumbria and Boscastle? How often do reservists? Is it a case of the local TA unit contacting the relevant chain of command and offering it's assistance?

4. Regarding the RAF, is it a case of "The RAF has helicopters and support closer to the incident, they'll respond first", or is that a decision made by civilian responders?

Apologies for so many questions, but any responses would be great.

2. The publication JDP2-02 is the guide to how the armed forces become involved in MACA - follow the link here (http://www.arrse.co.uk/Forums/viewtopic/t=138481/start=20.html) and you'll find a copy of it.

In broad answer to your questions though:

1. The CCRF no longer exists. It was stood down some time ago.