CCF Officer promotion

Discussion in 'Officers' started by dmh44, Feb 27, 2009.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Can anyone give me some advice on timescales for promotion? I've been serving in the CCF for over 5 years at my College and completed both CCF Basic and KGVI advanced courses. I'm currently i/c our Army section.

We have over 180 cadets and according to my SSI enough numbers to warrant my promotion from Lt to Capt. Every time I push for it however I'm given another lame excuse - this time its length of service, previously not having enough cadets or too many officers.

I'm confident its not because I'm crap, but that our OC is an old boy who I'm sure is way out of his depth. I'm strugglnig to find some proof however to prove my point.
  2. in_the_cheapseats

in_the_cheapseats LE Moderator

As the renumeration package you get is paid for by the MOD and not your college, it is likely to be something to do with quotas. Ask to see what your college is established for. That way you might find that you are simply inhabiting dead man's shoes.

I also seem to remember that CCF rank is a little different to regular in that the top substantive rank is that of Lieutenant and appointments thereafter are, in effect, acting. Am I wrong?
  3. Speak to your contingent commander. He has the power to promote you. You are over due.
  4. Cheers for the replies. Unfortunately its the Contingent Commander who is the old boy out of his depth.
  5. Stand on his head 'til the bubbles stop.

Seriously, he is probably scared that you will prove far better than him, and he's holding you back.

There will be an establishment scale for officers, based on numbers in the det. Check it out.
  6. BuggerAll

BuggerAll LE Reviewer Book Reviewer