Cars to Cyprus

Discussion in 'The Intelligence Cell' started by karlosondet, Mar 29, 2011.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi all newbie here!

Hoping for some guidance, just been advised I am off to Cyprus in August (woohoo) and was looking at taking my car with me. I had considered selling it but as I would have had it for 1 year and as it is financed over 5 years I will be seriously out of pocket!

Has anyone here had any experience of moving a car to Cyprus and has any idea as to how much import tax I would have to pay.

All help is appreciated.............. Cheers

2. It's not a Mini Moke is it?

3. No although what a good idea!

Car in question is a 2010 Ford Focus 1.6 Zetec S

4. Don't they still get tax-free cars in Cyprus. If that's the case why go to the expense of taking an old one out there?

5. As its a 2010 car my thoughts were take it with me and run it for the 3 years and bring a new one back with me.

6. I can only offer anecdotal evidence of a figure in the region of £4000 as of a few years ago. But might be complete arrse as it was a crab who told me.

7. f@*king hell............. How much!!!!!!....... Might need to sell it in that case.

Was thinking EU country and all that would be hundreds not thousands!!

8. According to Google, Grimaldi Ferries run a car ferry out of Southampton to Limassol every Saturday - try: cruisecyprus.com

9. Cheers for the info mnairb will look into it

10. I personally wouldn't take it mate. After being out there for a tour, they rip you off with the import tax (and your car gets fucked because of the weather and road conditions, not to mention pissed up local drivers).
    Even being tax-free they are not that cheap to export back neither. Buy a banger out there for the duration of your tour, there are always plenty getting sold on.