Career progression

Discussion in 'Sappers' started by 86-john-mahn, Oct 21, 2009.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hello gentlemen,

I apologise in advance for being a pain but I am seeking answers I have not as of yet been able to receive from the Royal Engineers website or the Army recruitment lines.

I'm looking to trade as a Design Draughtsperson or Surveyor Engineer. I'm from a Graphic Design degree background and currently studying a Msc conversion course in Building Surveying. I'm looking to undertake the APC (assessment of professional competence) to gain chartered Building Surveyor status once I graduate and my question is would I be able to achieve this with the Royal Engineers in them chosen trades?

I am aware that officers can become chartered in a chosen field but I intend to enter as a rank as I have no leadership experience at present and also not enough UCAS points as I went direct to University with a

Also, how long would I be looking at before I could actually start using my trade as opposed to being in a field section?

I realise this forum isn't for newbies looking to get their idiotic questions answered but I would be grateful for your time and any type of help is appreciated.

Thank you,

(edited for awfully wrong army terminology)
  2. Surely your BA & MSc trump the UCAS requirements?
  3. I'm not too sure whether it would with the AOSB. I know for definite that the UCAS points requirement can not be waived for the Royal Navy or Royal Marines officer selection so I assumed it would be the case with all services.

The officer route doesn't appeal to me anyway, I want the sapper lifestyle as a rank. If I'm good enough I'd hope to gain a promotion or a commission based on merit but like I said I've no experience in leadership or managing people so I wouldn't want to waste their time attempting to get in Sandhurst.