Career in the RAC?

Discussion in 'RAC' started by Mr.Brown, May 31, 2007.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. To start off I'm a newbie to the forum. I've applied to join the British Army as a foreigner and I've already started a thread in the personnel section to get advice on that whole process. Anyway I havent made my mind up about which job to go for really, although my first preference was for Gunner OP Assistant, however I've read around the forum that this is hard to get into from civvies (fair enough too). Basically I want something in the "teeth" triad, so my other preferences are Infantryman and Tank Crewman. There is one point that I have a eustacean tube dysfunction that would prevent me from parachuting or diving, although I'm totally cool with flying as a passenger and climbing mountains and all that.
    Anyway I wander from the point, which is this: if I go RAC, how long to I have to be a driver for? Not that I have a problem with the job (I'd have to learn to drive for a start but I gather this is taken care of), but I'm interested in being a Tank gunner more. I know it's not kosher to become one from the start, but how long does it usually take? Oh and so you know I have 20-20 vision and full colour perception and all that so I don't see anything medical keeping me from non-para roles.
  2. Well, how longs piece of string??? Driver to Gunner, Gunner to Driver, depends 1 week i was driving then swopped round so was gunner, whys it not kosher to be a gunner straight away???

Not sure about your eustacean tube dysfunction, but i still had to drive back to camp after finding i had crabs, so dont think youve a problem :)

Honestly depends on your first trade training be it goonery or oil and rag, before you get your next trade, but no doubt some whippersnapper will put you right
  3. so if i have crabs ill be ok too??