Career choices

Discussion in 'Join the Army - Regular Soldier Recruitment' started by tabasco-ck, Feb 15, 2009.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I know I'll probably get told to see a recruiter, however, I'll ask anyway.

I have sent off my application of interest form for an officer and I am awaiting for someone to reply. In the meantime I'm trying to establish what career direction to take presuming I manage to jump through all of the required hoops. My first interest is the infantry due to the obvious attraction plus I am really into my fitness and strength training, then I put down for RE followed by Signals.

Thing is I studied for a degree Town & Country Planning and I currently work as a land buyer for a property investment company and wondered if there's any opportunities within the army where I could use and perhaps develop on my experience, when I went to a recruitment office the WO2 gave me a load of brochures but put more emphasis on the RLC.

All advice/slagging/beatings will be greatly appreciated.

2. See a recruiter :wink:

3. I cant see any opportunities as a young subbie to be playing as a land buyer, but to develop you as an individual you wont be making a bad move taking on the challenge of a commission. Dont allow yourself to be swayed by a recruiter, go to where you feel you want to be. This is from a Londoner in a Scottish regiment- there were more than a couple of attempts made to have me badge RGJ!

4. I wasn't really thinking about being a land buyer or town planner to be honest unless of the army becomes a regeneration agency :lol: - just that in my current job I deal with a lot of maps, flood plain assessments, environmental reports, surveying - geographical issues that sort of thing. Just wondered if there was anything on that side of things in the army that might be worth pursuing. :?: