Career Advice?

Discussion in 'Gunners' started by ARMY_MAD, Oct 6, 2007.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hello all!

Basically im in my 1st year of college, ever since i was about 6 or 7 I have been set on a army career and in the last couple of years I have been keen to join the Gunners. When I saw my recruiter he strongly advised going to University before attending Sandhurst. However this is something that I really dont want to do, I just want to get stuck in! I was wondering if anyone had any advice about attending Sandhurst at 18 without going to Uni?

Thanks in advance!

2. Look in the officers' forum, I'm pretty sure that this has been covered a multitude of times.

If I were you though I'd go to university first. Perhaps you could join the TA as a potential officer while you're studying.

Best of luck.
  3. Im no expert, but i think it will aid your career and chance to join as an orciffer if you have a degree under your belt.
    I remember an officer who went to sandhurst as a l/cpl, joind my unit as a troop commander whi iirc had to do a degree before he was promoted to captain.

course i could be wrong.
  4. Although I am not in the army yet my recruiter told me that although you will still get into Sandhurst (if you pass AOSB) without a degree you will often stay as a junior officer for longer. He said often you will also fail the AOSB and they will tell you to go to uni to get some life expirence.
  5. Hi Mad,

You say you are at College... is there an Uni OTC near you? if so get into it now.

If not get yourself down to your local TA centre and have a chat, do not be behind the doors, if necessary insist that that you have an interview with the Coy Comd (but just to be PC ask your CSM to arrange the interview).