Cant get a house because im married!

Discussion in 'Charities and Welfare' started by PeoplesPTI, Apr 27, 2006.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi all, not sure if this is the right place to ask for help, but HELP!

Im a serving soldier in the regular army and am currently married.

The thing is, i have been seperated for 2 years and am awaiting a decree absoloute as we speak.

Even better is i am expecting a child with my new partner, who i cant marry cos im married.

The baby is due before the absoloute will be available and despite asking for a Quarter, i have been told there is no chance.

I currently have to rent a very expensive flat, (and its through a housing association!) which takes up most of my partners and my wages. When the baby is born i wont be able to afford to live.

I have explained all this to my families officer and he says that im not entitled to a quarter, even after my child is born.

As soon as my absoloute is through i will be getting married, just so i can afford to live with my partner and child.

Is my families office correct? Why should i be forced into a marriage? Surely if i was gay i would get a quarter at the drop of a hat.

I appreciate any help on this matter.
  2. Sadly, yes you have been correctly advised that you currently attract no entitlement. I presume that you are documented as being estranged/separated on your docs. As soon as you have remarried, once able to do so, then you will be entitled.

However, I must also point out that if you were gay you would not get a quarter 'at the drop of a hat'. You would need to have had a civil ceremony in the same way as going to the Register Office in a heterosexual partnership. Gay couples will still need to divorce if their relationship ends and they face exactly the same hurdles and barriers as a traditional married couple in your circumstances.