Can videogames turn you into an emotionless killing machine?

Discussion in 'Gaming and Software' started by skintboymike, Dec 8, 2008.

?
  1. Yes, help me hide the bodies

16.4%
  2. No, I can't even get out of my chair unaided, let alone kill someone

8.2%
  3. Maybe, but I don't play games cos I have a life

8.2%
  4. Leave me and my games alone you Elf n Safety Nazis

67.2%

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. This topic has been brought up every time a kid who happens to own a copy of the latest GTA or Manhunt goes on a killing rampage. I thought it would be interesting to hear a squaddie's perspective, especially those on here who occasionally face life and death situations themselves.

Graphics are so realistic nowadays that an on-screen killing looks like a snuff movie. However, I've been playing videogames for nearly 30 years so far, and have so far not felt the need to kill anyone (and I've played some pretty violent games). Am I alone?

It could be argued that the increased exposure to violent scenes could de-sensitise an individual to real life crimes of a similar nature. Couldn't it also be argued, however, that violent videogames are a way of venting one's built-up aggression in a controlled manner?

2. BrunoNoMedals

BrunoNoMedals LE Reviewer

It could be argued that people with a violent or criminal nature will do these things regardless, and those without see it as entertainment and not instruction.

This is one of my pet-peeves. I've played hundreds of games over the last 18 years and I haven't done anything stupid that they are supposedly "glorifying": Stealing cars, murdering hookers, burning down villages, setting off nukes, joining the Army...