Camp Bastion.Conditions for civvy contractors.

Discussion in 'The Intelligence Cell' started by scooby_bloo, Jul 21, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Guys,

Im a civvy contractor that has worked MOD for a while now, and Im off to see KBR next week regarding a position as an M&E Tech in Camp Bastion.

I did go to Basra with Turners, but got the hell out of there after a nasty rocket attack landed in our compound 150 yds from where we were shitting ourselves!! Oh, and one of our lads took some shrapnel in the leg.

Whats conditions like in Camp Bastion? Many rocket or mortar attacks, or is the aggro confined to the mountains and villages?

Any info gratefully received.

2. I've been in Basra for over a year now, can't think who you might be?
    Bastion is ok according to my mates that are out there.

I'm also just about to leave for another company, working in the far east.

3. Surely you are getting paid good money to work in a war zone. Everytime you or some of your mates get hit, are you going to run away with your tail between your legs. You are asking does anyone know somewere you can work were theres no nasty fanatics!
    Shrapnel in the leg? are you taking the piss?
    People like you make me sick, 3 feathers come to mind!!!
    ps more i think about it, why would you come here asking a question like that to people who has lost friends etc, do you another motive?

4. In three feathers though, he turned out to be a hero?

Don't follow your logic?

5. Last I heard, it was £60 k to sort the water plant out in Basra, plus other perks.

6. Your best bet is to ask the guy interviewing you at KBR. He'd be able to give you the latest from his lads. My bezzer is out there at the moment with KBR. He's still alive and well if that's a decent enough target indicator..